Some things found

Edinburgh antique fair finds.

Edinburgh antique fair finds.

Yannick, his mother, auntie and uncle from France.

Yannick, his mother, auntie and uncle from France.

Paisley prints from the archives.

Paisley prints from the archives.

Fox skull found in Pollok Park.

Fox skull found in Pollok Park.

Yannick’s mother, auntie and uncle visited Edinburgh for 3 days last weekend. We meet up with them and spent 2 days seeing parts of the town I hadn’t seen since 1990. Portabello beach, the top of Arthur’s seat, and many new things too. We stumbled upon an antique fair and I bought these two old photos from the late 1800s. The clothing is amazing. I also picked up an old fob pendant. We had a pub lunch after our hike up the mountain and I had Haggis, neeps and tatties. It was delicious – just don’t tell me what’s in it. In the National Museum of Scotland, I discovered a whole History of Scotland section that I had never seen. They had all these looms from when Scotland was a huge textile producing country. I love these paisley designs.
Clement and Yannick have been spending time deep in the forests of Pollok Park. They built a fort (will have to take photos) and while they were having an adventure they found this skull. The back teeth are still attached.
Last week it was a whopping 26C for one day. Of course I was in school all day, but the bike ride home was great. I think that was summer because it’s back to 10C and raining like usual. And don’t even think of telling me all about Vancouver weather because I don’t want to know….grrrr
I went to another antique fair today, and I could spend a long time in these kinds of places. There are so many interesting treasures to find. It’s very alluring – but since I don’t have any income I have to stop myself. I did pick up a French postcard, without a stamp but written to a boy in Brandon, Manitoba. Mum thinks I should investigate this further. It’s dated 1919, and was written by an uncle Syd. Funny that.
Over and out for now,
h

Leave a Reply

