Hello Weaving

The Glasgow School of Art weaving room

The Glasgow School of Art weaving room

Stretching the yarn

Stretching the yarn

Setting up the loom took a full day

Setting up the loom took a full day

The happy weaver

The happy weaver

Weaving is something that I imagined gave me a few more grey hairs. I never really knew the joy that it could produce until I signed up for a three day induction at school with the kind and patient weave technician Chantel.. She showed us how to unwind the yarn, stretch it and place it on a loom. We worked in a room with all different wooden looms; table ones, computerized one, but best of all I was on a hundred year old clunker that was powered by my foot on a lever. I weaved with different patterns and yarns, played with inserting chopsticks to make spaces, used metallic, silk, linen and Harris Tweed yarn. It was SO much fun. Building up the cloth takes time and is a mesmerizing and physical process. I look forward to the day I find an unloved loom and bring it home.

Last week my classmate Olivia (from Taiwan) and I went to the town of Paisley, on the outskirts of Glasgow to visit the Coats & Clarks Thread museum. Some lovely ladies who used to work at the factory gave us a tour. The company goes back 200 years. After that we wandered to Sma’ Shot Cottages for a tour of cottage/weaving life in the 1700’s and then had lentil soup, tea and treats in their tea room.

I've always loved how threads sit together so well. Coats & Clarks Museum

I’ve always loved how threads sit together so well. Coats & Clarks Museum

Found this photo in the archives

Found this photo in the archives

 

Leave a Reply

