Brothers, sisters and family

Iain, Lynn and Bruce

Iain, Lynn and Bruce

 

Bruce in Brick Lane

Bruce in Brick Lane

 

Bruce, Grant and Iain in Aberdeen

Bruce, Grant and Iain in Aberdeen

 

Magic hour near the Buckie cemetary

Magic hour near the Buckie cemetery

 

The Cloth Shop, London

The Cloth Shop, London

 

Cullen beach

Cullen beach

September turned out to be a really busy month. I finished up the exit portfolio and was straight on to hosting textile artist extraodrinnaire India Flint at the GSA. She gave a talk to dyeing enthusiasts in the Macintosh theatre and it was a real treat to hear her stories and finally meet her. I helped to organize a school wide clothing swap and repair shop, and it was a lot of fun to see all the swappers. Thanks to the volunteers! I taught another natural dyeing class at The Stitchery, as well as gave a talk about natural dyes to the third and fourth year print students at the GSA. And then the exhibition of our work opened at the Lighthouse Gallery along with all of the other masters graduates for two weeks. We had to invigilate and that was a nice chance to meet and talk to people about our work. I met a student from Glasgow University that is starting the Textile Conservation masters program and wished I could too.

And then, as if by magic my two brothers Iain and Bruce decided they wanted to visit the UK before I came home. I met up with them in London and we stayed with our cousin Lynn. They lived in London around 20 years ago and worked as bike couriers for a year, so they became my tour guides. We walked the streets and stumbled upon Saville Row, Carnaby Street and many other areas I had never seen. I managed a trip to the V & A, and the Natural History Museum. We really enjoyed eating Thai food and seeing the beautiful graffiti in Brick Lane, and the pubs and cool kids in Brixton. London is crazy large and after 3 nights I was worn out. After that we headed north to Scotland to see Buckie, home of my mother’s side of the family. My brothers finally got to see where mum grew up, our grandparents cemetery stone, the Portessie beach where we were raised on stories of Forty Pockets, and we ate some amazing fish and chips (and of course Cullen Skink). There were aunties, uncles, cousins and extended family to meet and drink cups of tea. They all said that Iain looks just like mum. We rented a small house in the Yardi from Air BNB and later found out that our great uncle used to live in it. Bruce observed that if you threw a stone in Buckie, you’d hit a cousin. After a few Whiskey tours and sightseeing we were back in Glasgow for my graduation promenade. It was an intimate show of our collections and was a great way to end it all. It happened so fast and now seems so strange that it’s come to an end.
Where did the year go?
September was a particularly difficult month because I had to accept that it was nearing time to leave – and saying goodbye has always left me a puddle on the floor. Scotland has always had a special place in my heart, but now it grew into a part of me and saying goodbye was more difficult than I imagined. We had ideas about staying, but knew that we had our place and jobs to return to, and wanted to see our family. Who knows what the future holds? I know that Yannick, and Clement and I deeply miss Glasgow and our friends we made. Clement once said to me, “I wish Vancouver was just across from Shawlands”.

“Live in possibility and in constant proximity
to desire. Don’t just dream; burn your dreams.
Heat your life with that fire.”

Brad Cran

One thought on “Brothers, sisters and family

  1. Wonderful entry Heather, so enjoyed reading it! I makes me miss Scotland (even tho I’ve never been, Mother – ahem.. 🙂 Forty pockets and Cullen Skink, ha! Glad to hear it was a wonderful time with Bruce and Iain, and what terrific photos.

    When you return, and you will.. I’d love to come with you.. Hope to see you, Yannick and Clement soon!

    Sending love,
    Mish

Leave a Reply

